Edinburgh Marathon Training : Update 1

Well seeing as I have visited my only little spot in cyberspace for many many many weeks, you’ll probably be expecting the mother of all updates (or you may think I’ve given up on marathon training and escaped to another universe). However, I will try and keep this brief.

I’ve been properly training for the marathon for about 6 weeks already. Despite, approaching the whole thing from a totally different angle I have still managed to get in almost all my training runs and run some excellent times in my races.

So what have I been doing differently ?

  1. For starters, I haven’t been so obsessed with mileage. So rather than stressing about my long runs, I decided to break the runs up from time to time. For example, rather than doing an 18km training run, what I’ve been doing is running a 8km warm-up before a 10km race.
  2. I’ve been doing lots of yoga. I finally decided to bite the bullet and fork out the cash for yoga classes. Bikram is really really helping, especially after a long run. As painful and irritating as yoga is I do feel like I’ve grown a new pair of legs at the end of a class.
  3. I’m still boozing. Last time I was totally T-Total during marathon training, this time I am little more relaxed. I’ve decided that I refuse to be depressed when its all over and part of that means not giving up the all the fun things in my life during the lead up to the marathon. So far, I’ve managed to organise the social drinking well so that it doesn’t interfere too much with my runs.
  4. I’m trying to dedicate at least a little time to speed training. This is easier said than done, especially as I don’t enjoy (vehemently detest) running fast. I realise that it is important if I want a PB on this marathon.
  5. I am going to pay more attention to what I need to eat on the race. From this week on, every long run will be above the distance of a half marathon. Starting with 25km on Saturday. I will use these long runs to figure out what works and what doesn’t as far as eating en route is concerned.
marathon cocktail

A little Cocktail …. to help me through marathon training.

And hows the new approach to marathon training working out ?

Pretty well actually and here is why:

  1. I’m managing to run more races which is taking away some of the monotony from training. 
  2. I’m actually running much faster. Ran a Two Oceans PB…in the middle of a marathon training programme (I will write more about this in another post)
  3. The yoga is helping
  4. I feel that marathon training is taking over less of my life and I have a life beyond marathon training
  5. I am less scared this time round. There is less fear of the unknown. Yes, I know there are still things that could go wrong a create a disaster situation but I am not stressing so much.

So, there it is in a nutshell. I will try my best to keep you updated on my progress and long runs in the next few weeks…but no promises right now.

Keep Calm and Yoga On

Something from the new-found Yogi in me :D

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 responses

  1. Great post! I am getting ready for my 2nd half marathon, I do not know that I will ever do a full. However, I am have the more relaxed approach this time myself. During my first half marathon training, I would do a yoga Pilates fusion at the gym after a long practice run. It ALWAYS made me feel better!

  2. Pingback: The Edinburgh Marathon – My Happy Race | Shantarella

Leave a Reply

